(Sci-Fi #3) Calm Before The Storm

cropped-quill-paper.jpgIn order to write a successful tale one must effectively block out the world as you know it.  No-one can compose a story set in the serenity of an Alpine village whilst listening to the neighbours tradesman dismantle their roof!   All writers have varying techniques to block out the world.  Mine is headphones combined with a writing attitude that no-one ever messes with twice; disrupt me at your own peril.

Sometimes my preference is to listen to a singular artist, band or composer, a choice befitting whatever it is I am planning to write.  More often than not, however, I set my player on shuffle and allow the random selection… and my muses… to take my thoughts where they will.

When writing ‘Calm Before The Storm’ I did something I have never done before… with fabulous results.  Upon opening my computers media player, I selected all music and scrolled a few inches at a time, randomly and blindly selecting at least one song from every album stored in my computer.  I ended up with four hours, sixty-four songs and a musical range from Strauss and Abba to hits of the sixties, Birdy and Rod Stewart; my own radio show, without the annoying commentary and advertisements to dislodge my thought and scribing flow.

At 5656 words ‘Calm Before The Storm’, like its Sci-Fi predecessor ‘The Genesis Protocol’ began as a Telling Tale and landed in the most definite, futuristic realm of Science Fiction.  Again!

I will create that ever elusive (it seems!) Telling Tale #30 yet!

Telling Tales Vol.2 is OUT NOW!

@AuthorAnikaKing

Artlice shortlink: http://wp.me/p3g5fP-2f

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. THE SCI-FI BUG! | Anika King

Leave A Brief Message